East Lothian Council

European Elections

European Parliamentary Elections

European flag

Elections for the European Parliament take place every 5 years. The next election will be held in 2019 - subject to the UK's membership of the EU.

Scotland is classed as 1 region and 6 Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) are elected to represent Scotland. MEPs representing the UK are elected under a form of closed list proportional representation.

Electors have 1 vote and can vote for either a registered political party with a list of candidates or for an individual candidate.  Each political party will have prepared a list of candidates to match the number of seats to be filled in each region.  

For further information on the European Parliament visit www.europarl.europa.eu/portal/en

John Muir House, Haddington, EH41 3HA

Telephone: 01620 820183/4/5

East Lothian Council, John Muir House Brewery Park Haddington East Lothian EH41 3HA.