East Lothian Council

Candidates meet East Lothian Councillors as campaigning steps up for Scottish Youth Parliament

Published Tuesday 28th February 17

SYP candidates meet East Lothian councillors

Scottish Youth Parliament elections - 3 to 17 March 2017

East Lothian Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP) candidates met with East Lothian Councillors in the council Chambers today as the campaigning to represent East Lothian at the Scottish Youth Parliament hots up.

Young people across East Lothian are campaigning for votes to become Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament (MSYPs), as the voting officially opens for the 2017 SYP Elections on the 3rd March.

The Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP) is the democratically elected voice of Scotland's young people. It provides a national platform for young people to discuss issues important to them and affect the change they wish to see.

The Scottish Youth Parliament was influential in helping secure votes for 16-year-olds in Scotland, and has also been a key voice in the campaign for equal marriage through its Love Equally campaign. SYP’s current campaign, Speak Your Mind, focuses on raising awareness of mental health, empowering young people to talk positively about mental health, and calling for accessible, high quality mental health services and information for all of Scotland’s young people.

The SYP voting period will take place between Monday 3rd March 2017 and Friday 17th March 2017, and young people will be able to cast their vote to elect an MSYP to represent them in their local area or national voluntary organisation.

Young people can cast their vote by using the e-voting system with a YoungScot smartcard. Or get a temporary voting number from cldmusselburgh@eastlothian.gov.uk

Further information on candidates standing for election and how to vote in their area can be found on the SYP website at http://www.syp.org.uk/Voting on the YoungScot web site at http://elections.youngscot.org

East Lothian’s candidates are:

  • Adam Fairgrieve
  • Angus Langlands
  • Glen Slorance
  • Heather Cameron
  • Lara Adams
  • Nicole Collins
  • Morgan Lewis-Wilson
  • Amy Grossner
  • Emma Hotchkiss

More articles in the news archive.

Get this feed East Lothian Council news feed | About RSS.

East Lothian Council, John Muir House Brewery Park Haddington East Lothian EH41 3HA.