East Lothian Council

East Lothian’s new SYP members visit Scottish Parliament

Published Monday 1st May 17

Scottish Youth Parliament members

Last week East Lothian’s three new Scottish Youth Parliament members attended an event at the Scottish Parliament to discuss the UK’s future relationship with the EU.

As part of the Scottish Parliament’s Culture, Tourism, Europe and External Relations Committee's ongoing work concerning the EU referendum and its implications for Scotland, East Lothian’s new Scottish Youth Parliament members - Heather Cameron, Lara Adams and Angus Langlands - attended a youth engagement event along with approximately 40 other young people at the Scottish Parliament in Edinburgh on Tuesday 25 April.

Rather than focusing on the immediate reaction to the referendum result, the Committee was keen to discuss the UK’s future relationship with the European Union and in particular, the event focused on what young people consider to be the priorities for the UK’s future relationship with the EU.

Scottish Youth Parliament Elections are held every two years and young people from across Scotland stand as candidates to become Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament (MSYPs). MSYPs range in age from 14 to 25 and represent constituencies in all 32 local authorities throughout the country, and several national voluntary organisations. There are three seats for members from East Lothian.

Find out more about the Scottish Youth Parliament at www.syp.org.uk.

More articles in the news archive.

Get this feed East Lothian Council news feed | About RSS.

East Lothian Council, John Muir House Brewery Park Haddington East Lothian EH41 3HA.