

REPORT TO: East Lothian Council

MEETING DATE: 15 May 2012

BY: Executive Director (Support Services)

SUBJECT: Appointments to Committees and Sub-Committees of the

Council

1 PURPOSE

1.1 To request the Council to appoint the Membership of the Committees etc. of the Council.

2 RECOMMENDATIONS

2.1 That the Council approves the Membership of the Committees etc. and Conveners thereof, as shown in Appendix 1 to the report, as proposed by the new Administration.

3 BACKGROUND

- 3.1 Following the election on 3 May 2012, membership of the Committees and Sub-committees of the Council and the Conveners thereof (as shown in Appendix 1) has been proposed by the Administration.
- 3.2 The decision on such Membership is one to be taken by the Council in terms of Standing Order 4 (i)(d).
- 3.3 It should be noted that the Council Committee for Education will now be known as the Education Committee.
- 3.4 Members are reminded that the membership of the Audit & Governance Committee and the Policy & Performance Review Committee should consist of non-Cabinet members only.
- 3.5 It is proposed that from May 2012 the Local Review Body should have a fixed membership. Those Members appointed to the Local Review Body would be excused from participating in other committees, such as the Education Committee and Tenancy Sub-Committee, due to the workload involved with the Local Review Body. This arrangement would be reviewed at the end of the 2012/13 Committee Session.

3.6 Traditionally, the conveners of the Planning Committee and the Education Committee have held those respective portfolios within the Cabinet (i.e. the Cabinet spokespersons for Environment and Education & Children's Services).

4 POLICY IMPLICATIONS

4.1 None.

5 RESOURCE IMPLICATIONS

- 5.1 Financial none.
- 5.2 Personnel none.
- 5.3 Other none.

6 BACKGROUND PAPERS

6.1 East Lothian Council's Standing Orders.

AUTHOR'S NAME	Lel Gillingwater
DESIGNATION	Democratic Services Manager
CONTACT INFO	lgillingwater@eastlothian.gov.uk x7225
DATE	7 May 2012



COMMITTEES OF EAST LOTHIAN COUNCIL 2012-2017

CABINET

Leader of the Council and Convener (and Cabinet Spokesperson for Housing and Community Planning)

Councillor W Innes

Depute Leader (and Cabinet Spokesperson

Councillor M Veitch

for Transport and Roads)

Cabinet Spokesperson for

Economic Development & Tourism Education & Children's Services Environment Community Wellbeing Health & Social Care

Councillor J McMillan Councillor S Akhtar Councillor N Hampshire Councillor T Day Councillor D Grant

AUDIT AND GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE

(5 SNP + 2 LABOUR + 1 CONSERVATIVE/INDEPENDENT)

Convener	Councillor S Currie	
Depute Convener]]
Members	Councillor K McLeod Councillor P McLennan Councillor S Brown Councillor J Williamson	

Councillor A Forrest Councillor J Goodfellow Councillor J Caldwell

EDUCATION COMMITTEE

(10 ADMINISTRATION + 4 SNP)

Convener Councillor S Akhtar
Depute Convener Councillor M Libberton

Ex officio Members

Council Leader Councillor W Innes
Depute Council Leader Councillor M Veitch

Provost Councillor L Broun-Lindsay

Depute Provost Councillor J Gillies
Leader of the Opposition Councillor P McLennan

Members Councillor A Forrest

Councillor J Goodfellow Councillor J Caldwell Councillor D Grant Councillor P McKenzie Councillor F McAllister Councillor S Brown

External Members Mr S Bunyan

Ms M Goldsmith Mr M McHugh Ms G Gillan

PETITIONS COMMITTEE

Convener Councillor L Broun-Lindsay

Members Councillor W Innes

Councillor M Veitch Councillor P McLennan

PLANNING COMMITTEE

(10/11 ADMINISTRATION + 4 SNP)

Convener Councillor N Hampshire

Depute Convener Councillor T Day

Ex officio Members

Council Leader Councillor W Innes
Depute Council Leader Councillor M Veitch

Provost Councillor L Broun-Lindsay

Depute Provost Councillor J Gillies

Leader of the Opposition	Councillor P McLennan	
Members	Councillor A Forrest Councillor D Grant Councillor J McNeil Councillor J Goodfellow Councillor J McMillan Councillor D Berry Councillor J Williamson Councillor T Trotter Councillor P McKenzie	
POLICY AND PERFORMANCE REVIEW C (5 SNP + 2 LABOUR + 1 CONSERVATIVE)		
Convener Depute Convener	Councillor D Berry []
Members	Councillor J Williamson Councillor P McLennan Councillor F McAllister Councillor P McKenzie Councillor J Goodfellow Councillor J Gillies Councillor J Caldwell	
LOCAL REVIEW BODY		
Convener Depute Convener]]
Members	[[]
JOINT CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE (6 ADMINISTRATION + 3 SNP)		
Convener (Council side 2012/13)	Councillor W Innes	
Depute Convener (Trades Unions side 2012/13)	Mr J Inglis (EIS)	

Council Members Councillor J Gillies Councillor D Grant Councillor J McNeil Councillor M Libberton Councillor J Caldwell Councillor P McLennan Councillor S Currie Councillor S Brown **Trade Union Members** x 10 [tbc] LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE (4 ADMINISTRATION + 2 SNP) Chair Councillor J McNeil Vice-Chair Councillor D Grant Councillor J McMillan Members Councillor J Caldwell Councillor J Williamson Councillor F McAllister **EMPLOYEE APPEALS SUB-COMMITTEE** Councillor W Innes Chair (Leader of the Council) Depute Chair (Provost) Councillor L Broun-Lindsay Councillor J Gillies Depute Provost Leader of the Opposition Councillor P McLennan + Cabinet Member of relevant area **TENANCY SUB-COMMITTEE**

Chair Vice-Chair