Community Council elections take place every 4 years - the last elections were held on 7 October 2021, the next elections will be held in October 2025.

Community Councils are run on a voluntary basis by local people. They act as a vital link between East Lothian Council and the local area and give residents an opportunity to speak out on local issues of concern. Meetings are usually held once a month.

There are 20 Community Councils in East Lothian:

Cockenzie & Port Seton, Dunbar, Dunpender, East Lammermuir, Garvald & Morham, Gifford, Gullane Area, Haddington & District, Humbie, East & West Saltoun & Bolton, Longniddry, Macmerry & Gladsmuir, Musselburgh & Inveresk, North Berwick, Ormiston, Pencaitland, Prestonpans, Tranent & Elphinstone, Wallyford, West Barns, Whitecraig.

If you are interested in becoming a member of a Community Council you must be age 16 or over.

More information on Community Councils is available on that specific section of the website: