East Lothian Council


Council Elections

The next Council elections will be held on Thursday 4 May 2017.

You can now view the candidates standing nominated for election.

Following the Local Government Boundary Commission’s review of councillor numbers and boundary arrangements, (Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland)East Lothian Council will, from 4 May 2017, have 22 councillors across 6 wards:

Ward 1 - View Ward Map
4 councillors
Ward 2 - View Ward Map
Preston, Seton and Gosford
4 councillors
Ward 3 - View Ward Map
Tranent, Wallyford and Macmerry
4 councillors
Ward 4 - View Ward Map
North Berwick Coastal
3 councillors
Ward 5 - View Ward Map
Haddington and Lammermuir
4 councillors
Ward 6 - View Ward Map
Dunbar and East Linton
3 councillors

Single transferable vote

The single transferable vote is an electoral system that produces proportional representation while at the same time giving voters more choice over who their elected representative will be. It is the electoral system used to elect local councillors to all of Scotland's 32 councils.

Proportional representation refers to any electoral system which elects several people together in a way that parties (or independent candidates) get shares of the seats which more proportionately reflect their shares of the votes.

When you cast your vote, you list the candidates in order of preference, starting with '1' for your first choice, '2' for your second and so on until you no longer wish to express a preference.

If the candidate who is your first choice does not have enough support to be elected and is therefore eliminated then your vote is transferred to your second preference. Again, if this candidate did not have enough support, the same transfer would take place to your third preference (and so on).

If the candidate who is your first choice has more than enough support and is elected with surplus to the quota needed to be elected, then surplus votes are again transferred to the second preference.

In East Lothian, 22 local councillors are elected to represent one of six multi-member wards. Four of these wards are represented by four councillors and two wards are represented by three councillors.

John Muir House, Haddington, EH41 3HA

Telephone: 01620 820183/4/5

East Lothian Council, John Muir House Brewery Park Haddington East Lothian EH41 3HA.