Elections for all 32 Scottish Councils took place on Thursday 5 May 2022

See the election results

East Lothian Council has 22 councillors representing 6 electoral wards.

Ward 1 – Musselburgh (4 councillors)
Ward 2 - Preston, Seton and Gosford (4 councillors)
Ward 3 - Tranent, Wallyford and Macmerry (4 councillors)
Ward 4 - North Berwick Coastal (3 councillors)
Ward 5 - Haddington and Lammermuir (4 councillors)
Ward 6 - Dunbar and East Linton (3 councillors)

These elections used the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system where voters can rank candidates in order of preference (1,2,3 and so on) rather than a single cross. Voters can choose to vote for as many or as few candidates as they like.

Council Elections 2022 – Election Expenses

The election expenses from candidates at the ELC elections held on 5 May 2022 are available to inspect. Contact the Election Office (elections@eastlothian.gov.uk) to make an appointment – the expenses can be inspected at ELC HQ, John Muir House, Haddington, by appointment, between 9am to 5pm Monday to Thursday and 9am to 4pm on a Friday (excluding public holidays).

Copies will be charged at 20p per side of a page.