School term dates 2020-21

Term 1

Pupils resume Wednesday 12 August

Autumn Holiday (schools closed) - Friday 18 September 2020

Autumn Holiday (schools closed) - Monday 21 September 2020

All Return - Tuesday 22 September 2020

All Break - Friday 16 October 2020

Staff In-service Day 3 - Monday 26 October 2020

Pupils Resume - Tuesday 27 October 2020

Term Ends - Tuesday 22 December 2020

Term 2

Staff Resume - Wednesday 6 January 2021

All Break - Friday 5 February 2021

Staff In-service Day 4 - Monday 15 February 2021

Pupils resume from - Tuesday 16 February 2021 dependent on year group; please check the latest updates with your school

All Break - Thursday 1 April 2021

Good Friday - 2 April 2021

Easter Monday - 5 April 2021

Term 3

All Resume (Staff and Pupils) - Tuesday 20 April 2021 - all secondary school year groups due to return

May Day (Schools closed) - Monday 3 May 2021

All Resume - Tuesday 4 May 2021

Staff In-service Day 5 (pupils off) - Monday 24 May 2021

Primary Pupils Resume and Additional Secondary Staff In-service Day (secondary pupils off) [1]  -  Tuesday 25 May 2021

Secondary Pupils Resume - Wednesday 26 May 2021

Additional Secondary Staff In-service Day* (secondary pupils off) [1] - Monday 7 June 2021

Secondary Pupils Resume - Tuesday 8 June 2021

Term Ends - Friday 25 June 2021

School holidays, opening and closing times

You should contact your school or consult your school's handbook for holidays, daily opening and closing times, as these vary from school to school.

If you don't already have a handbook, please ask your school for one.

[1] The Scottish Government has allocated an additional two days of Secondary school closure for the current school session to provide extra time for teachers to prepare for the Alternative Certification Model for SQA awards. In East Lothian these will take place on Tuesday 25th May and Monday 7th June. Please note these are for secondary schools only.