Political make up of the council

There are 22 elected Councillors in total who are responsible for agreeing policies about provision of services and how the council's money is spent.

The council usually meets once a month and is responsible for taking decisions, but it can delegate decisions to Committees, Sub-Committees or officers. The council meeting is made up of all the councillors elected to East Lothian Council.

View details of all council and committee meetings

Political Party Number of Councillors
Scottish Labour 10
Scottish National Party 6
Scottish Conservative 4
Scottish Green Party 1
Independent 1

East Lothian Council has a minority Labour Administration.

Political Leaders chosen by the Administration

Cabinet spokespersons

The Leader of the Opposition is Councillor Lyn Jardine.