What are Common Good Funds?

Common Good Funds in Scotland originated in the 15th century and are the assets and income of some former Burghs. They represent a substantial portfolio of land, property and investments and by law continue to exist for the common good of the inhabitants of the former Burghs to which they relate.

East Lothian Council administers the assets of four common good funds within its boundaries. These are Dunbar, Haddington, Musselburgh and North Berwick.

The area of each common good fund is defined by Burgh maps from 1973 and only residents or organisations that live or operate within these areas can apply for common good funding.

The common good committee for each area will administer its own common good funds with support from council officers.

View all common good area maps

Each Common good committee will consist of all the councillors for those areas, namely:

View All East Lothian Councillors

Note - Councillors must not be canvassed on their views on an application prior to it being submitted.

Common Good Asset Register

The Common Good Asset Register has been established and published in accordance with Part 8 of the Community Empowerment (Scotland) Act 2015 and Scottish Government Guidance, which outline the duties of the council in regard to the management of the Common Good.

The Common Good Asset Register is a live document and will be updated if any further assets are identified as Common Good property.

View and download the Common Good Asset Register