East Lothian Council by-election results - 22 January 2022

Ward 2 Preston/Seton/Gosford

A by-election was held on Thursday 20 January 2022 for the election of one councillor in Ward 2 of East Lothian Council, the Preston/Seton/Gosford Ward. The by-election is due to the sad death of Councillor Willie Innes and is required under electoral legislation.  

The by-election used the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system where voters ranked candidates in order of preference rather than a single cross. Voters chose to vote for as many or as few candidates as they liked.

The successful candidate, Colin Yorkston, Scottish Labour, will represent this ward along with the three existing councillors: Lachlan Bruce, Neil Gilbert and Fiona O’Donnell.

Results - first preference votes

  • Calum MILLER, Independent: 122
  • Ben MORSE, Scottish Liberal Democrats: 136
  • Andy OVENS, Scottish Conservative and Unionist: 1,154
  • Tim PORTEUS, Scottish Green Party: 231
  • Janis WILSON, Scottish National Party: 1,217
  • Colin YORKSTON, Scottish Labour Party: 1,793

View and download the full election results