East Lothian Council

Common Good Funds

What are Common Good Funds?

Common Good Funds in Scotland originated in the 15th century and are the assets and income of some former Burghs. They represent a substantial portfolio of land, property and investments and by law continue to exist for the common good of the inhabitants of the former Burghs to which they relate.

East Lothian Council administers the assets of four Common Good Funds within its boundaries. These are Dunbar, Haddington, Musselburgh and North Berwick. The area of each Common Good Fund is defined by Burgh maps from 1973 and only residents or organisations that live or operate within these areas can apply for Common Good funding. The Common Good Committee for each area will administer its own Common Good funds with support from Council officers.

Each Common Good Committee will consist of all the Councillors for those areas, namely:

Dunbar - all 3 Councillors

Haddington - all 4 Councillors

Musselburgh  - all 4 Councillors

North Berwick - all 3 Councillors

View All East Lothian Councillors

Note - Councillors must not be canvassed on their views on an application prior to it being submitted.

East Lothian Council, John Muir House Brewery Park Haddington East Lothian EH41 3HA.