Ward 1 (Musselburgh): council election results

Voting took place on 5 May 2022 to elect 22 councillors across 6 wards.

The election used the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system where voters ranked candidates in order of preference rather than a single cross. Voters chose to vote for as many or as few candidates as they liked.

Four councillors have been elected in Ward 1 (Musselburgh):

  • Ruaridh Bennett (Scottish Labour Party)
  • Cher Cassini (Scottish National Party)
  • Andy Forrest (Scottish Labour Party)
  • Shona McIntosh (Scottish Green Party)

First preference votes were as follows:

  • Ruaridh BENNETT (Scottish Labour Party) 1,074
  • Susan BUTTS (Scottish Liberal Democrats) 312
  • Stephen CARTER (Scottish Family Party) 79
  • Cher CASSINI (Scottish National Party) 1,596 
  • Andy FORREST (Scottish Labour Party) 1,209
  • Michelle GRAHAM (Alba Party) 84
  • Katie MACKIE (Scottish Conservative and Unionist) 1,082
  • Shona MCINTOSH (Scottish Green Party) 991
  • Iain WHYTE (Scottish National Party) 929

Total 7,356

View and download the full election results for Ward 1 (Musselburgh)