Ward 5 (Haddington and Lammermuir): council election results

Voting took place on 5 May 22 to elect 22 councillors across 6 wards.

The election used the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system where voters ranked candidates in order of preference rather than a single cross. Voters chose to vote for as many or as few candidates as they liked.

Four councillors have been elected in Ward 5 (Haddington and Lammermuir):

  • Shamin Akhtar (Scottish Labour Party)
  • George McGuire (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)
  • John McMillan (Scottish Labour Party)
  • Tom Trotter (Scottish National Party) 

First preference votes were as follows:

  • Shamin AKHTAR (Scottish Labour Party) 1,625
  • David BARRETT (Independent) 118
  • Stuart CRAWFORD (Scottish Liberal Democrats) 432
  • Morgwn DAVIES (Alba Party) 85
  • Graeme MACGREGOR (Scottish National Party) 944
  • George MCGUIRE (Scottish Conservative and Unionist) 1,714
  • John MCMILLAN (Scottish Labour Party) 1,228
  • Jackie SWAILES Scottish Green Party) 577
  • Tom TROTTER (Scottish National Party) 1,107

Total 7,830

View and download the full results for Ward 5 (Haddington and Lammermuir)